My daughter and her Microtia

I’m starting this blog to document the ups and downs of a child having Microtia (a little ear). I’m going to give you a brief history up till today.

My daughter Jaycee Alexis Jo was born on June 8th, 2009, she was the most amazing thing I have ever seen in my life. In 2009 I was just a newly single mother at 18 years-old I had no idea how much you could love another person until I saw my precious baby girl. Jaycee was perfect in my eyes literally I didn’t even notice her little ear until she failed her first hearing test, we were then told to go to what felt like hundreds of appointments.

I was told finally she had Microtia/Atresia in her right ear and would need a hearing aid soft band to wear. That was just the first couple months of her life and what she had to go through when she was younger it was easy for her having a different ear, now as she gets older she is having to accept herself for who she is and learn to love her ear.

Her journey hasn’t been easy on her but, this is why I have started this blog to document some of her struggles that she faces and copes with on a day to day basis.

First blog post

 

Leave a Reply

